Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Contributing Member
320 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1967 xr-7 289 with the midland booster.
I think the brake booster is not working. Last year
I had to have the master cylinder replaced along with
new brakes front and back. The car stops ok but the pedal
has a very hard feel to it. I had a guy at a local shop test
drive it, without telling him about what I had done to the
brake system. When he came back his first words were your brakes are bad. After I told him all that I had done he said it
must be the brake booster. I check it after driving it for awhile
by pulling the hose off the check valve. I did here some air
when I did that, so does that mean the booster is ok?

Is it possible to change the booster without having to bleed
the brakes? I have never done any brake work before,
however I think I could change the booster on my own....

Thanks,

Jim

·
Registered
429 Posts
Here's my guess...

I'm going to say you can't do it without bleeding the brakes again. It takes some space to get the booster out so I would guess that your best bet is to bite the bullet and remove the master cylinder.

Good luck.

·
Registered
2,966 Posts