Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to site and new to cougar...I have a canary yellow 70 cougar eliminator- vin correct, my problem is I cant find much info on the motor...it appears to be a shelby 351 id stamp appears to be right. Does anybody have any info on how to find out about the shelby motor, I have been told shelby put some 351's in the eliminator, how do I know if its correct for the car? What is the value if it is correct..Also I have been told that the wheels are shelby, and say magnum 500 any clues..

·
Registered
735 Posts
Hey gzelimator and welcome.

I've learned to never say never regarding Carroll Shelby, but I have am not aware of Shelby modifying any Cougar Eliminators, nor am I familiar with any "Shelby" 351 blocks.

Your Eliminator should have a good old m code 351 Cleveland. Same 351 all m code '70 Eliminators received.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Shelby valve covers and previous owner thought it was a shelby..., thanks for the welcome..any way to tell if it is the matching motor or does the mustang-torino mean it came from either-car is in good shape very little rust and the odom says 42000, but the 2 is slightly lower, drives well has a hurst 4 speed, no major mech. probs. Interior is good. paint only has 1-2 bubles Any idea of the value...Im not asking exactly only estimated value. Thanks, for your time

·
Premium Member
13,577 Posts
Look for partial vin at DS rear deck.

·
Registered
2,518 Posts
The back of the engine just below the head. It is hard to see, but if you use a small mirror and flashlight you should find a partial VIN that will include the last 6 digits of the VIN on your car if it matches.

·
Premium Member
13,577 Posts
Where on driver side exactly, not familiar with cougars yet, sorry
You ready? Okay, here you go:

Look at the left bank.

Any questions?

:buck:

E-Bob

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #15