Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First, let me give a little background. I'm an offroad/motorcycle 20 year old enthusiast...I have a pretty built Jeep Cherokee (I've been wheeling XJ's pretty seriously for 4 years) and I'm slowly getting more and more into motorcycles after commuting/rebuilding one for the last year and 7k miles. The Mercury Cougar I have was my grandpas originally, he bought it brand new and we've (my dad and I) had it since. He was an auto part store owner for the better part of his life and this car was his baby. It was stored in his garage since he passed for about 15 years, and has spent the last 3-4 years outside (Washington State, so sun for a few months and rain most of the time). It is all original to my knowledge minus the exhaust (grandpa put a custom single outlet exhaust on) beyond that I don't know if anything has changed.

I've always been a forum guy, so I found this forum in hopes that some real enthusiast can tell me a little more about this car. My mom wants it gone, and we don't have any room for it in the garage right now...but I want to make sure this car gets the proper restoration it deserves but I need to know what I'm getting into first - as well as a little ammo to keep it. My long term plan is to fully restore this car to be a weekend driver, and be as close to show quality as possible once I finish my ME bachelors and MST associates. But I would love to have the ability to drive it ASAP.

My knowledge is limited on these vehicles. I want to know what I should look for with problem areas, especially trouble-sum restoration items, or anything that could cause problems/slow down a restoration. Also things about value, what is or isn't more valuable with this car? Is it worth going all the way to pulling the engine/suspension/axles and freshening everything up, or should we just get it running and clean it up a bit and call it good?