Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
328 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been restoring cars for more than 30 years and through those years I have had a lot of variable experiences with weatherstrip. You rarely find NOS parts in that department anymore, so we have to deal with reproductions, some good and some not so good. And then some totally useless.

As a result I would like to open a tread where we all tell about our experiences we might have with weatherstrips for our cars.

First out is my experience with the MU CONVERTIBLE TOP WEATHERSTRIPPING KIT

A few weeks ago I replaced the top on my 70 Cougar convertible and I bought a set of convertible top weatherstrips from Mustangs Unlimited.

These weatherstrips has molded in screws to attach them to the top frame. When I was trying to install them I discovered that the screws where significantly shorter than the screws on the original ones. I was barely able to get the screws through the stamped steel pieces on the frame and hook on the nut, but for the rear casted frame sections the screws were way too short and even when a friend pushed the weatherstrips as hard as possible to the frame I was unable to get the nuts on. I somehow managed to get them attached to the bows, but had to do modifications I disliked doing and it took me at least a couple more hours to get them installed than I am used to.

When it comes to the rubber quality used in these weatherstrips, it is much harder and stiffer than the original rubber. I also noticed that the front side pieces were not the same size as the rest and as a result they did not seal the way they should where they met the door glass.