Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
794 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. Looking for some advice on a fuel system. This is my first car with a carb so I'm still learning. I am looking into installing a 15gal alum. fuel cell in the trunk and running a new braided steel fuel line up front. I have two questions:

1. For install of the fuel cell (sumped w/ -10 AN feed fittings) : when the factory tank comes out I will have a gaping hole. I'm thinking of fabricating a 1/4" thick aluminum peice cut the same size as the opening with an area cut out for the sump to drop through. This peice would bolt in like the factory tank and provide a place to mount the fuel cell. Is this the right/safe way to do it?

2. Fuel line size : I guess it is rated in "AN" sizes (-10,-8,-6..)
Can a large (-10) line be used with the mechanical fuel pump ?
Not talking about the connection size to pump, just overall line size.

Thanks in advance for taking the time to help me out.

·
Registered
1,832 Posts
I assume this is going to be a race only car? What your talking about putting the cell in the original hole maybe ok but I'm concerned about it. What kind of can is on the cell you plan on useing? Is it flanged on the top or in the middle of the side?

A 15 gal cell is not very big around and that leaves a pretty wide plate to bolt it in with. A pice of 1/4 inch aluminum hasn't much strength laying flat. If its a top flanged can you can't hardly bolt it in through the top as it will hang down pretty low.

Most fuel cells will need a frame built around it. And also the frame should go under it to help support the weight of the fuel in it. If you look most stock fuel tanks have ribs of some sort stamped into them to add strength to help support the weight of the fuel, most cells do not, therefore the need of a cage under the cell.