Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone rebuilt a trac lock unit? I'm going to get a used one but it needs new clutches. How big a deal is it to replace clutches and springs? How do they come apart and where can I buy a rebuild kit? Thanks.

·
11,000 Posts
Here's a good place to get your parts:

http://www.ringpinion.com/applications.shtml

I am in the same position as you are, I am just getting into the process but it appears that a dial indicator and magnetic base are the only special tools required.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've bought parts from him

I've rebuilt and changed gears in a few 9" and 8.8's. His prices and parts are good. The thing I've never done is change clutch plates. I'm going to give him a call and find out about it.

·
Registered
145 Posts
it's easy. the trac-lock comes apart after removing the ring gear. there are 2 phillips head screws holding the two halves together.i recommend turning the screws almost all the way out the use a plastic mallet to strike the screw heads to seperate the two halves. o9nce it starts to come apart the springs will pop it apart. the important part of the clutch pack is in the # of discs and the order in which they are stacked. also check the track lok case itself for cracks. they are prone to breaking. stay away from the units with the four holes in them. they are the waekest of the posi units.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
what 4 holes

are you talking about the windows in the carrier or are there round drilled holes somewhere??

·
Premium Member
2,142 Posts
Types of posis

I think he's referring to the oil drain holes in the spyder gear portion of the diff.
Something else to look for: 4 sypder vs 2 spyder posi's. And while you're at it make sure the spyders turn freely on their pin. The pin should not turn!