Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm REALLY considering getting this '67 cougar "Dan Gurney" special. Is this a very rare car? I don't know too much about cougars...I'm just getting started :) This car is equipped w/a 289 and a 3-speed. Can anyone give me any feedback on it or any other comments that you might know......he's asking $4900. Is it worth that much? The only problems that he states are the the A/C, heater, and hide away lights don't work. The lights have to be done manually. Also, the speedo cable is broken (easy fix). Thanks for the help fellas.

Attachments

·
Registered
669 Posts
Looks nice. If the undercarriage is clean and the car does not seem to be rusty, go for it. The price sounds right.

·
Registered
1,112 Posts
The DGS is not particularly rare. However, the factory version of it is worth more in my opinion than the dealer installed version. You may want to obtain a report from Kevin Marti to find out which one this is. It does seem to be a very nice car at a reasonable price, though. And, 3-speed cougars are difficult to come by.

Let us know if you buy it.

·
Registered
3,371 Posts
BUY IT!!!!!

or I will

:1poke:

Don

·
Registered
5,299 Posts
is that the one on Ebay???????

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Thanx! There are not ANY major problems, so i thought, "what the heck" for a price like that I'm sure it'll be well worth it. The car only have a few minor things that need corrected. Most of which can probably be done by myself on a weekend :)
Hope I have good luck with her.

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
:rolleyes: ya know...it's odd that I even bought this car.....I'm a HUGE mustang fan(currently restoring a '69GT Convertible). As a matter of fact, was actually lookin' to buy a mustang until I saw this beautiful car. Kinda weird, but i'm sure i'll have LOTS of fun :)