Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I have a question about Tie-Coat Primer. Is there a window of time that I can apply a topcoat without sanding the Tie-Coat? I didn't read such in the directions that came with the Tie-Coat, but also the Por-15 doesn't list a window, although the message boards say it can be done---and it has worked for me with good results.
In the instructions it says don't apply any primers over the Tie-Coat, what is the difference between putting any paint, but no primers? What would be the effect if I apply epoxy primer over the Tie-Coat?

thanks,

·
Premium Member
414 Posts
Mark,
I'm not familiar with the Tie-Coat Primer but if your Epoxy Primer is compatable you can apply it before the Tie-Coat "flashes" without sanding. You might want to see if there is any information on the flash time.

·
Registered
3,371 Posts
Ok OK OK..... Flashes??? Novice here :D What does that mean??

Don

·
Premium Member
414 Posts
Paint has a Flash time. When you first apply it, it looks wet right? Well in about a minute or so, if you applied it correctly and evenly it will start to to have a dry look. That's called flash time. What I was telling Mark before is that when the paint flashes, starts having the dry look, you can apply your next coat without sanding and still have the same adhesion. This is, of course, if you are using compatable paints. For example, if you use a PPG etching primer and place a SW filler primer over it during flash time the two paints will probably chemically react and not stick to your metal etc.... hope this helps. By the way....the PPG and SW paints might work ok today....this was years ago when this happened to me and paint technology changes just like computers.

·
Registered
3,371 Posts
WOW... Thanks Jeff! Talk about your encyclopedia mercurycougar.net brittania!!!! I love this site. I can fix F18 electronic systems but couldn't paint my way out of a paperbag....lol