Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
1,832 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Well I got my 460 today! Now when I find a car to put it in I wll try to have it ready.

Now I'm not a BB expert so I'm open to sugestions on what to do with it.

Its a 78 with 40k actual miles on it with the c-6 trans. It belonged to some older friends of the guy I have been working for so I trust the story on the 40k miles. The car met its demise about a year ago with an incounter with a barrier wall on the expressway. Didnt get much invested for it either, as I traded a gas powered air compressor that I have not had any need for since I quit racing back in 94 for it.

So I'm open for suggestions on what to do with it. Before anyone says to get rid of the smog heads (there d3v's ) let me explain that I plan to do that but that can wait till down the road and funds build back up from doing the car. I'm thinking a set of eldebrocks would be nice! I have to change to a double sump pan anyway so I will check things out inside and any brgs and such will get replaced if needed. And the heads will come off and I'm thinking maybe some light work on the exhaust ports will be in order as well as getting the piss milled out of them to bump up the wimpy 8.5-1 compression. Or should I go with some flat tops now, but dont want too much compression with the Eldebrocks or early do's later.

Then I can take care of the factory cam retard at the same time I'm putting a new bumpstick in it. Something like 220 @.050 with a tight lobe seperation like 108-110 for the nasty idle. I'm used to circle track small block cams so I am listening for suggestions here. Then on top I'm looking for a manifold, maybe a performer as there are going to be hood clearance issues with a 750-800 vac secondary carb. Then there will be a set of shorty headers used. I plan on the duraspark dist and am open to suggestions on uprades to go along with that.