Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not very good, or good at all with electrical issues. My 68 XR-7 Tail lights are not working properly, and I don't want to spend moeny or the wrong parts. The driver side tail light only lights up the first two pannels when the blinker is on. The passenger side only lights up the first pannel.
When I brake the opposite pannels light up then the ones when blinker is applied?? Confused? When brakes applied the ones that did not work before, now work and working light now do not.
I have checked the bulbs, connections and wires. Has anyone had this happen to them before? Should I purchase the componet that activated the blinkers in squence? I'm new to this form and any help is greatly appreciated. Love this sight, glaad I found it!:wave:

·
Registered
980 Posts
Have you tried to "clean" the bulb connections (dots on the bottom of the bulbs) with an bit of light grade sandpaper? That and undue and retighten all of the grounds to the wiring harness for the bulbs in the trunk. Let us know if it still doesn't cooperate.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No I have not tried to "clean" the bulb connections. I will and update everyone with my results. Thanks for the advice!!

·
Registered
1,853 Posts
It sounds like the motor to the cam quick working. Can you hear or tell if the motor is turning the cam that alternates the lights? No expert but it sounds like it is lighting up what the cam lobes are touching but that the cam is not rotating. If this is the case and you should be able to hear it running you will have to replace that part. Or if you don't mind sounds like it might be time to put the new electronic unit in that replaces the motor and cam. obviously your light bulbs are ok if they are lighting up.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #6