Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is there a way to see if my tack is shot without tearing the dash apart? Cuz its reading zero right now.

·
11,000 Posts
More info please.

Do you own a Cougar? If so what year is it? XR-7? Are we talking about a factory tach? Are the wires all connected?

Royce Peterson

·
Registered
3,201 Posts
Royce

Royce
I've got the a rev counter problem, sometimes it works, sometimes not, 72 XR-7. Presume its factory fitted, does not look like anything has been modified on it or the entire dash. Any ideas.
Dayle

·
11,000 Posts
72 Tach

Unfortunately I have zero experience with a 72 tachometer, possibly someone else on the Forum might know.

Royce Peterson

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
its a 69 and as far as I know the wires are all hooked up, I dont think the dash has been teken apart.

·
11,000 Posts
Well then...

If it's hooked up it's bad. If it's not hooked up you need to plug it in to know anything.

Royce PEterson

·
Registered
180 Posts
Does your car still run? I thought that if the tach isn't working that the car won't stay running either. Scott

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter #8 (Edited)
The car runs fine. I'm told the tack runs off the distributer, If so how is conected, because I just see the coil wire, and the posative lead from the coil that ataches to the distributer, and the ground leading from the coil.what colors are the wires running from the tack. From my crawling under the dash, mine look like they are red and yellow, but I'm not sure, they could be red and blue.

·
11,000 Posts
Here's how it works