Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am trying ot get the tach working on my car,apparently it has been disconected since before purchasing in 1981 and I was told it runs through the voltage regulator or something, I have MSD ignition so I know I cant go off coil, there is wiring in engine compartment not used with one lead plugs ins, what color is lead wire for tach? in engine bay. and where does it go, I have other tachs I can try but think it just needs to be wired right.

·
Registered
175 Posts
To use the factory tach you will need a MSD tach adapter. P/N 8910 is for a points trigger (white wire on MSD) or 8920 for magnetic pick up. If you go to the MSD website with the P/N of your ignition you can download the instructions. That is were I found this info but I don't know how to post a link to it once I found it.
The 6AL box in my Eliminator has one and the tach works fine.
Mike

·
Registered
41 Posts
I'm a bit new to all this myself, just got my '70 last July. But, my tach didn't work, and while researching it I learned that the Ford tachometers of that era were different from most aftermarket tachs. When they fail the ignition system no longer works, so most were bypassed when they failed. I sent mine to The Rocketman for conversion to a typical type tachometer. I got it back a couple of weeks ago but haven't had a chance to install it and try it out, my winter engine upgrades aren't done yet. Hopefully I'll get to try it in the next couple of weeks. If you have yours converted it will work fine with MSD or any other ignition system. I don't know if the stock tach can be made to work with aftermarket ignitions, I didn't research that since my tach was already inoperative.
That was a long way for me to say that your tachometer probably failed and was bypassed to allow the car to run.
Jeff

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #4