Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new at this ,so here goes. After getting my cougar on the road
the front end seems to ride too high. At first I thought It was because the engine had been out of it for about 9 years. I tried
trimming the coil springs,that helped but both sides did'nt come out at the same height,(even though I took the same amount off).
Then I ordered new springs,thinking that maybe mine were wrong
but still too high. Any suggestions? thanks

·
Registered
885 Posts
Tim,

I'll bet your rear leaf springs are sacked, giving the appearance of the front end riding too high.

Steve C.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Suspension help?

I guess i should have said that all suspension parts are new,new rear springs,new shackles,new bushings,and new insulator pads.

·
Registered
885 Posts
Ok, that helps. Provided everything went back together properly, this is puzzling unless you have the wrong spring for your application. Where did you get your coils? Check the spring rate, free length, etc.. This can vary based on your engine, and options (A/C and so forth). Mustangs Plus has a 620 coil spring which offers a 1" drop. As an alternative, you could also have your current springs professionally shortened. They'd be even that way.

Steve C.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I ordered the new springs from MU,and orderded springs listed for my car,but without air ,even though mine has air, thinking that