Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have a 71 302 looking to put a supercharger in top :) i have been suggested to go with the Weiand 77-174FSB-1. my question is if i run around 5-6 lb of boost on a stock engine will it be alright to run this set up i seen a post of someone running 15psi? on stock components, but idk about that, something doesnt sound right to me. im new to the whole supercharger thing, have a basic understanding of how they work, but thats about it.

here is a the info on the 1971 ford boat engine which is in my 1974 xr7.

holly 750cfm carb holly 0-33105 (4160)
edlebrock rpm performer heads 2.02 int 1.60exh 60cc Chamber, 170cc Intake Runner
edlebrock performer 289/302 intake
crane cam Duration 268/276, Lift .448/.464,
1.6 roller rockers
HV oil pump
stock fuel pump
3/8 rubber fuel line
ford racing tall valve covers
long tube headers 1 3/4 - 3" collector
MSD 6a ignition module
MSD coil
MSD plug wires
NGK plugs .50 gap
HEI pro comp dizzy conversion
c4 trans stock converter stall unknown
stock 74 cougar drive shaft and rear end. i believe its the 9" just not sure of the spline
14 X 10 cragar SS W/ Hoosier Racing Tire 17030QT
14 X 7 craggar SS in front
and adjustable air shocks in the back.

think thats about it lol.

·
Registered
1,048 Posts
i would not mess around without forged pistons. also check compression ratio.

·
Registered
2,660 Posts
I ran a Paxton on a 91 Mustang GT. The kit went on easy and it ran real strong. No experiece with the Weiand.

·
Registered
11,950 Posts
Do you know what the comp' ratio is? I doubt you could go 15 PSI on it as is if the rest of it is truly stock....the sealing between the block/head is a critical spot for one thing, depending on boost.

·
Registered
5,883 Posts
5 lb is not a significant amount of boost. Not enough to warrant the expenditure for the blower setup, the tuning, and all the rest of the time and install, relative to the hp return.