Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 20 of 249 Posts

·
Registered
248 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just recently picked up a base 67 Cougar. It's in very nice cosmetic condition so I want to up grade the engine. It's got the usual Ford 289 in it. Only piece aftermarket is the Flowmaster dual exhaust with an x pipe. I'm looking to up it's performance a bit.

I'm looking at getting an intake manifold, carburetor, HEI distributor, some headers, and braces.

Any suggestions on which brands or which parts to get first?

I've heard of using the Weiand Stealth high rise manifold. Will that fit alright in the bay or should I pick up an Edelbrock Performance low profile manifold? I have never worked on a carburetor before so any info there would be appreciated.

·
Registered
759 Posts
"Suggestions for 67 Cougar Upgrades"

Oh Hell don't get me started, you'll be broke within a week....

·
Registered
759 Posts
Let's see... 289s rev nicely, I'd look into a set of Hedman 88400 shorties and a nice Magnaflow exhaust. Then I'd swap on a 600 CFM carb (you pick the flavor) as well as a dual plane intake such as a performer or weiand. I assume its an auto? minor upgrades to the tranny to beef it up and get it shifting properly as well as a 2500 ish stall convertor. If you want to go deeper into the internals, swap out the sure to be stretched timing chain for a nice double roller, and install a cam to compliment the new breathing capabilities as well as the new convertor. A good OEM alternative is a 351 H.O. truck cam. We used to run those all the time and they liven up a stock 289/302. You will need to change the firing order to a 351W or 302 H.O... A hotter spark is nice, but the Ford HEIs kinda suck, they are huge and really don't do much for performance. I'd go with a MSD dizzy or just put a Pertronix in your old one and run a hotter coil.