Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It looks like when an alignment was done, the steering wheel was not centered. How can I fix this? I know its a simple adjustment but I've never done it before.

Thanks in advance.

Rob

·
Premium Member
6,980 Posts
Take your horn pad off and verify that your steering wheel is has the dots lined up. (one on the wheel, and one on the shaft)

If they are lined up, the alignment shop needs to do a do-over.

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Can I not just unbolt the steering shaft, turn the wheel and bolt it back up? I remember having this done with another car.....

·
Registered
524 Posts
Not sure about older fords but chevys only go on one way, they need to be indexed and slide on

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Take your horn pad off and verify that your steering wheel is has the dots lined up. (one on the wheel, and one on the shaft)

If they are lined up, the alignment shop needs to do a do-over.
Im just assuming this was caused by an alignment as i bought the car this way. I took the cover off and didnt see the markings your talking about. Its a 71 with a rim blow.

·
Registered
8,194 Posts
If it was OK prior to the alignment, take it back and have the alignment shop fix it. If it was one of those shops with the "high-tech" electronic gear, take it to a real alignment shop.

·
Registered
980 Posts
Don't know anything about the "dots" thingy... sounds like a CHEVY problem to me...on my '70 XR7 mine was off a little bit, so I took the center pad off the wheel, put my steering wheel puller on it and got it loose, then put the nut back on to lightly hold it in place, got out on our frontage road drove it straight, stopped and put the steering wheel where it belonged and tightened it up. Good as new.

·
Premium Member
13,577 Posts