Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Contributing Member
320 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi one and all,

My question is about free play in the steering wheel.
When my car is parked,engine off there is a good bit
of movement in the steering wheel. Aslo when driving
it seams to have a little play to it.
Someone told me that all i need to do is loosen the nut
that locks the sector adjusting screw and turn the adjusting
screw counter clockwise.
Then tighten the nut back up and the problem is solved.
Now this sounds too easy to be true. I am new at all this
and could use your knowledge and experience...

thanks,
Jim

my cougar: 1967 xr7 289 2v ps/pb

·
Registered
314 Posts
My cat does the same. It is probably worn out.
The old steering boxes are poorly designed P.O.S's. Please don't ask me to explain why, because I can't.

·
Registered
1,832 Posts
Actually you have to turn it clockwise to tighten the slop up if I remember correctly. But if its really sloppy to begin with its probably worn beyond the point of adjustment and will just bind up when trying to adjust it.

If its a power steering car be sure to check the ball stud on the P/S control valve for wear as they can also put alot of slop in the steering. mm

·
Registered
16 Posts
My 67 had similar problems. After messing around with the adjuster screw, no real improvement. Finally ordered a control valve rebuild kit from one of the suppliers (can't remember) I'm sure the kit would be easy to find. I rebuilt it, installed it, had front end aligned and I am pleased with the handling and the feel when driving.

·
Registered
3,371 Posts