Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
what exactly does a stall converter do and do i need on if i just want to be fast on streets not drag

·
Registered
175 Posts
I'm a novice mechanic too, but hiere's my shot at an answer. The converter is like a centrifical pump that transfers the power from the engine (it bolts to the flywheel) to the shaft of the transmission. It lets the rotation of the engine crank be gently transferred to the wheels through the transmission. You have to have one with an AT. The stall is just the rpm's at which the converter "catches" and makes the car go.

·
Registered
5,883 Posts
Hey outlaw,
Nice wording on the previous post.
A higher than stock stall converter raises the speed your engine runs at when it starts to move the car. Floor the gas and brake. See the engine speed? That's your stall speed.
From your engine recipe (260h, alum. intake w/4v, and headers) you shouldn't need one.
But, if the money is burning a hole in your pocket, I like the B&M holeshot series of converters.

·
Registered
3,153 Posts
Outlaw, if you use Kraven's test, don't hold it for than a couple of seconds. Trans fluid temps get very hot very fast under those conditions. Also check your motor mounts before you try it..
And what ever you do,"be careful and be safe"

Bruce

·
Registered
5,883 Posts
whoops

Yeah, Bruce is right.
That's a good way to "test" your engine mounts.
And a good way to heat up your fluid if you do it more than a few seconds.
But, you only need half a sec to do it. So, follow Bruce's warnings if you do.
:D
Thanks Bruce

·
Registered
3,153 Posts
No problem. I mentioned because in 67 the gas peddle is connected to the carb with hard linkage, not cable. And we know what happens with hard linkage and bad motor mounts..."WEEEEEEEEE"

Bruce

·
Registered
35 Posts
Also be VERY careful I broke both of my motor mounts doing checking mine a few months ago.

·
Registered
5,883 Posts
in fact...