Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
263 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay guys... i turn her on (nothing funny!! :D) and unfortunately i can hear a knock coming from the passenger side engine bay... upon further inspection it sounds like it is coming from valve #4. Can i do any tests to find out exactly what is wrong?? This is a 351W and i heard the knock a few months ago and it just went away!! but it is really quite loud right now??
There is smoke coming from under the valve cover on that side but it doesn't smell like exhaust fumes i think it is burning/evaporating oil.... i had another look at her with the valve covers off and she spat all over the engine bay.... how much oil should there be covering the valves and the top of the heads??? I told you i was a beginner mechanic!! :D Anyway thanks for the tips yesterday but how wierd is this i checked everything you told me and still nothing i looked under the distributer cap and and gave it a clean.... and re-adjusted the gap between my ignitor and hey presto!! Starts like a champ!! :D
Anyway back to this problem!! What is it??? valve job?? or what help!! Also i have done the shake test on the rockers... and the one rocker over number 4 i can shake like 2mm to the side and back i can't with the others... i tried to tighten it but boy are they on tight!! Is that one just worn?? Another thing could it be timing?? Maybe my timing chain is worn and it keeps losing it?? hmmmmm.. :1zhelp: :D Do i sound desperate!! Your right!! I am !! Anyway thanks for the help as always!! This Cat would be in pieces if it wasn't for you guys!!

Thanks again

Stu - :D

·
Registered
3,153 Posts
Pull the plug wire for that cylinder and see if it goes away. If it does, it might be a rod knock(not good!) If it stays the same, it may just be a stuck lifter....

Bruce

·
Registered
263 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Tested!!