Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I hate to ask this question at the risk of being pelted with stones from fellow concourse correct members. I read I think on WCC that you can use 68 chrome rockers on a 69? I realize they are different but this is my first build and I am on a budget. My plan is 15k max car included (bought for $1800). I am doing everything myself and am on track for budget or better. Anyways i do have some respect for the cars originality but have made some non concourse choices along the way. IE paint colors rims etc.They are 1/4 of the price of the 69 repops and likely only a cougar guy would ever notice. Was thinking about painting a black stripe along the tops to keep the look similar. Has anyone done this? do you have any photos of a 69 with 68's on it?
:redface:
I figured the next guy who buys it can spring for the $600 if he is deeply offended by the 68's. In the mean time i have some nice shiny rockers.Thanks! Bish

·
Registered
2,055 Posts
Have you considered leaving them off entirely? I don't think it looks bad without them.

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Hey Al,
Yes I have considered that. In fact i flopped back and forth so many times the car is in primer now, with one side ready for rocker mounting and the other with the holes welded up. I think I should decide before any paint flys for sure. I am thinking about ordering them, trying them out, and if I think it blows I can sell them locally and still maybe get $100 for them. That way I minimize my risk a little. Would be great if someone had done this so I could see a pic. Thanks for your thoughts. Bish

·
Registered
568 Posts