Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, another question for y'all. When I purchased my 67, I found out that the PO had put a shift kit in the C4 tranny. Since I am totally new to the technicalities of autos, i was wondering if any of you could fill me in on any info about them. Are there different kinds, or is there just a "basic" design? does it damage the tranny at all? what mechanically does the shift kit do? When you put one in, is it good for the life of the tranny? or do you have to replace things after a while?

The one thats in there now is somewhat decent i guess. it has a mild jolt from 1st to 2nd, but the conditions have to be just right for the tires (15" wheel) to chirp. I was wondering what i could do to make the chirping more common (even if its not the best for my firehawks :) ).

·
Registered
183 Posts
The valvebody is the brain of any transmission. The valve body is a complex maze if passages, checkballs, valves and springs. When a shiftkit is installed, usually nothing is done to the main part of the tranny. Most if not all shift kits only effect the valvebody. Springs are replaced with higher tension ones, checkballs are sometimes removed and passages are even sometimes blocked. All these modifications change the pressure and direction of the fluid in the valvebody. The only way you could possibly make it shift any harder without a complete rebuild would be to replace your servo with a higher pressure one... like PA Automatics. I run there's in my tranny. You could try to adjust your shift modulator (the thing in the back of the tranny that your vacum hose hooks up to). Try screwing it in or letting it out to change the rpm's at which the tranny actually shifts. Other than these simple tricks there's not a whole lot of things you can do. Buy some harder tires perhaps :)

Kirk

·
Contributing Member
6,137 Posts
Fastcat was all over this. I have only a few comments to add.