Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,758 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ADAM,
question. A friend i know is redoing a old bronco, and is using a POR 15 primer over bare metal(clear i think).Now my question is can you prime over bare metal w/ that stuff? What happens when you have to use filler? and you have to take off the coating to get to bare metal? I`m a painter by trade and a bodyman by hobbyist(was in the field for 14 years), and never heard about putting down this coating before doing filler work..
thanks
pat

·
Premium Member
5,758 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Any info on my question? Iplan on coating my undercarriage n then painting over it but still curious on the main subject here.
thanks
pat

·
Registered
5,299 Posts
im just bumping this thread up for easier viewing....

·
Premium Member
28 Posts
droptopcat70

You should do any filler work before you put down POR-15.

Here I'm going to mention our own Epoxy Putty that is also moisture cured (it'll set underwater if you need it to) http://porshop.com/porshopfilpu.html

But before using any filler use the first two steps of the POR-15 process. Clean using Marine Clean to remove any grease and then apply Metal Ready to neutralize any rust and etch the metal.

If you apply POR-15 first your filler won't be able to grab on, and if you don't neutralize the rust it will fester underneath your filler.

Then you can put down your POR-15.

You mentioned that your friend is using POR-15 Clear. This is not a primer. He's using the POR-15 rust preventative coating which is great to use over bare metal (again use the first two steps mentioned above first for best results).

If you're coating your undercarriage with POR-15 you don't need to put another coat on top. POR-15 is extremely resistant to chips and cracks and as long as its not in direct sunlight the finish won't discolour. Most people are using our Black Semi-Gloss for this type of application.