Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
primer help for a beginner

I have a 67 cougar and would like to do as much of the work as I can on my own. But, I am new at this so I was hoping for some help. HERE IS THE QUESTION: I want to prep my car for paint (smooth out body and prevent any rusting) and then leave it primered while I complete the restoration of the engine and interior. Where do I start and what do I do? I know this involves sandpaper, wetsanding, etc. but.....Can anyone help with the details? Thanks!

·
Registered
1,102 Posts
It sounds like a good plan. The condition of your existing paint and amount of rust will dictate how you prep your car. If your paint is just dull it really doesn't even need primered unless you sand thru the paint. On all of those areas a good wetsanding will take care of the prep work. Now depending on what paint you are using you may need to use 600 grit paper or 320 grit. 320 will sand the car faster but if you paint with acrylic enamal you may be able to see scratch marks thru the new paint if there is not atleast 3 coats of paint. Base coat clear coat will hide the scratches but will probably cost you more to get painted because its like painting the car twice for materials and labor. Probably the best thing for a beginer to do is have a bodyman look at the car to give advice.
Good Luck
Joh

·
Registered
5,299 Posts
cracks my back and streches to prep for a long answer.......