Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I am very new to all of this, so please bear with me. Our 70 XR7 unfortunately does not a have a single power window that works. I've ordered some wiring diagrams, that should arrive next week to help me get started. I suspect, however, that since all 4 are inoperative that it is a problem with the main switch on the driver side door. If this switch is bad/bad contacts does it render the individual switches on each door inoperable? Thanks for any help you might offer.

·
Registered
980 Posts
Make up some long jumper wires (hot and ground), pull the door panel off, find the window motor, be careful to keep your hands out of the way, disconect the factory wires and use the jumper wires to the motor itself. You should be able to determine if the motor is bad or not. Try this on all the motors, then you'll know what it isn't and can go from there. Check out www.autokrafters.com for replacement parts. They offer great service and have never let me down in the past. For $5 you can get a catalog for your Cougar, and never have to search for parts again. I give them 5 stars. Hope that helps.

·
Registered
274 Posts
The contacts in the switches get dirty after time. What I did was removed all of the switches from the car and released the rocker buttons from each switch so I could get at the contacts. I then cut skinny strips of paper and pressed them between the contacts and burnished them until they were cleaned up. It's a pain in the butt, but it worked. Since none of your windows work, there is a possibility that you have a problem with the relay mounted under the hood on top of the right wheelwell.

·
Premium Member
627 Posts
I'm in the process of getting my PW's working in my 69. Actually it's been in process for ~1yr. I also had none of the motors operating. The likelyhood that all 4 motors are bad is very slim.