Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
386 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was taking my 69 to the shop for a different problem and noticed after awhile that it was taking bumps pretty hard. My wife was following me to the shop and said it looked like water was coming from the front driver's side when I pulled away which I figured was just standing water since it had rained the day before so I thought nothing of it. Well I picked it up today and on my way home, it felt like the front end was going to drop out it sounded and felt so bad mostly on the driver's side. Within the last 6 months I've replaced the front shocks, springs, wheels and tires, and sway bar and didn't have any issues until now. Could I have possibly blown one of the shocks? I've never done that before so I don't know what it feels like. I'm hoping to take it in Friday since I feel like it's going to shatter if I hit a bump too hard. Thanks for any tips you guys might have!

Ben

·
Contributing Member
6,137 Posts
Look underneath and see if the shock looks all wet. That would be the oil leaking out of it. Also if the shock is bad, bounce that corner of the car up and down hard a few times by hand and see if it settles right away. If not, then most likely it went south.

·
Registered
386 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'll give the bounce test today. Since it's pouring all day into tomorrow, I probably won't get a good look underneath until the weekend. I can't believe how bad it sounds. On my way home I thought the front axle was going to fall off. Thanks for the tip.

Ben

·
Contributing Member
6,137 Posts
Usually a blown shock won't make an audible noise though. But it will leak fluid. Also check to see if you have a broken sway bar end link. That is also a pretty common thing that WILL make noise.

·
Registered
386 Posts
Discussion Starter #5