Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am about to dive into removing two layers of paint from my 67 cat. The original color was coated with a layer of enamel (poor job to boot) I have the time and the patience to do this job. I just don't have any experience with stripping auto paint. I am a painter (houses) not cars so I do have some experience with being delicate with finishes, etc. One friend recommended aircraft paint stripper. Also, after the nasty stuff is gone what do I clean it off with, what kind of primer? Any suggestions? Thanks

·
Registered
300 Posts
Here's what I plan to do...

Use the aircraft stripper.. it's fun to watch it bubble and crinkle all the paint up so you just scoop it off and trash it. You can wipe it down afterwards with something like MEK or Acetone... something like either of those will remove the crud, and evaporate with no residue behind. As for primer? I'd check with wherever you're having the paint done. Some places are picky and want a decent primer that will let their paint stick to it.. not Krylon from pep-boys or autozone. :)

That's my story and I'm stickin to it...

Robert

·
Registered
197 Posts
In the January 2002 edition of Custom Rodder, they use PPG Industries blue primer and I think it looks really nice. It is supposed to stick real good and I was interested in using it. Their website has a distibutor locator that will find any stores near you that sell it.
Hope this will help.

·
Registered
5,299 Posts