Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just helped a kid get "a piece of junk" out of his driveway for a couple hundred bucks. It is a 1968 standard hard top with a 302 2 V that absolutely purrs! The paint job looks to be the original (maroon or burgundy) and is pretty well shot. There is minor rust in a few spots as far as I can tell, but the frame appears straight as an arrow, and all the original hardware is either on the car, or in the glove box. The interior is fair, except for a crack in the dash and I'll probably replace the center console.....

It appears that the guy before this kid I bought it from added sway bars, centerline rims and rear shocks which respond to an air hose (there is a valve just below the rear license plate). As I said, I'm new to this (though I'm a late starter) so I'm not sure what all this stuff is. I suspect that somebody was rough on the car at some point, as the left-side shock tower is cracked and the upper control arms have small cracks in them near the four bolts. I'm having the engine pulled and the shock tower problem fixed (my guy is going to replace the whole side. When I can afford it, I will replace the upper control arms (Will Mustang parts from the same year do?) and possibly the whole front suspension. Then, I'm looking at the headers, exhaust, intake, valve covers, etc. I guess the paint job and interior should wait.

Anyway, I am certainly not a purist, so it won't be a traditional restoration, but I am absolutely in love with this car and just cannot wait to get things done! Finding parts appears to be a challenge, but I am open to suggestions.

Whoa, I know this is a long letter, but anyone who's gotten this far and has any advice would be deeply appreciated! I'll try to do a "before and after" photo shoot, but I'm just a working man, so the "after" is gonna take some time.

Thanks,

John

·
Registered
885 Posts
John,