Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone! My name is Lenny. I am 27 years old and quite new to the whole Mercury Cougar world. I recently got my hands on my mothers first car, yes a Mercury Cougar. It is a 69 XR7 Cougar that has been sitting in a lot for years with out being turned over, so no it does not start. There is a lot of body damage (rust) that needs to be repaired. I want this car to be a project of mine to get back to the streets. It will cost me quite the dollar, but I'm looking forward to the challenge. So being that I am new to this whole Mercury Cougar restoration world I was hoping that some of you can give me some advice. Maybe those of you that know a thing or two could advise as to where I should start or maybe good places to buy parts and so on. Like I said, I'm new, and anything will help.

Also, I would like to check out some other cars. Are there any car shows or meets going on in the SoCal area?

Thanks guys.

·
Registered
2,991 Posts
Lenny, welcome to the madness. Here are links to Cougar vendors that are great to purchase parts from:WCCC, www.cougarpartscatalog.com . The owner is a member here (Don Rush). www.cascadeclassics.com is owned by John Benoit (DrCougar). JCC, www.johnsclassiccougars.com . There are also members here who sell parts like Randy Goodling (CATHOUSE). The names in parenthesis, are the names of the members here. John

·
Registered
292 Posts
Just a question, Are you going for a Complete period/yr correct restoration, or are you wanting the body to look good and have a good daily driver. Believe there is a Major difference in costs. Either way, so cool to have found a family car.

·
Premium Member
6,521 Posts
Welcome! Post some pictures and the door data tag. You found the right place to find parts / help. Lots of knowledgeable guys here. What town are you in?

·
Registered
2,660 Posts