Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I'm new to this whole car restoring thing. I don't really know much about fixing old cars up. I'm really handy in all sense of the term. I love doing stuff with my hands, and I really want an old cougar to fix up. Is it going to be a big problem if I have a lack of knowledge? I plan to teach myself to weld and all that good stuff. I just don't want to waste my money on an older car if I would not be able to do most of the work myself, as I would like to do. I want it to be a little difficult so I can have that sense of accomplishment when it's all done and finished. I want to get a 67 or 68, my mom had a 66 1/2 so i want the same body styling.
Any opinions are greatly appreciated.
-Zach

·
Registered
7,552 Posts
If you have tools, time and money, you can do it. Having a decent set of tools to get started with is a huge help. Also, thefactory manuals are a great reference. A lot of questions that come up fall under "general mechanical" stuff. Sometimes you need make/model specific information.
It is an expensive hobby. It can be VERY expensive. Cougars weren't released until 1967 for a model year, I've never heard of a 66 1/2 Cougar before.
Welcome!

·
Premium Member
646 Posts
Cougar for a beginner is a tough way to go. One reason is a lack of aftermarket or reproduction parts. next it is a very heavily sculpted car in that there is very little flat on them making it really rough on a beginning body person. The value after restoration lags behind some other models of the day. BUT the pluses are, the Cougar is so nice to look at. You are not too likely to park next to a slew of them at the cruise in and car shows like with a Mustang or Camaro. And since the prices have not that drastic for nice ones or restored ones, getting a complete project car is not too expensive a proposition.

·
Registered
120 Posts