Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
147 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Cougar fans,

Well I am new to classic car buying and am wondering what I need to look out for when buying a classic car such as a sweet Cougar? I am looking to buy a daily/weekend driver. Money wise: If there was one part of the car that was wrong what would be the least expensive to repair or replace? For example: Let say we find 2 Cougars that are in our budget. One is straight, runs good, Interior is in good condition, all lights work, but it has a little rust, is poorly painted and is missing the trim/weather striping. The other Has a new paint job which was done right, zero rust, New tires/wheels, Looks real good on the outside, but the interior needs work, lights don’t work, and the suspension is shot to hell. Which of these would cost the least to have fixed? I know very little about how to fix cars. I can do general Tune up type things but I have zero experience with any major undertakings so anything major would have to be taken to a shop to have done.

Another question I have is what should my budget be. If I can afford to buy a Cougar for 5,000 should I over budget say to 7k to fix her up to a daily/weekend driver....I plan on buying a car to have a lot of fun with now and then fixing her up right with a total frame off restoration. Any general advice to a rookie would be a great help.

Thanks,
Jason

·
Registered
3,371 Posts
Welcome to the best cougar forum in the world!!!!