Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
acquired a 1970 Cougar from daughters ex-boyfriend....pawned it for him, thinking he would bring me money back in a month and take his car.....no such luck.
standard coupe w/ 351, two sets of original hub caps but sporting American racing mags.
has all Cougar script signage also.
i am NOT a mechanic....engine is probably best attribute...has major rust on floorboard ( heater hose leak i believe ), other internal & exterior challenges....what i am wondering is it something i should work to restore or sell as is.....gave kid $4500 for it a year ago.
if i put money into it, would i get it back if i decide NOT to keep it after restoring a bit.
thanks to any all comments.
sh

·
Registered
5,279 Posts
Before you put any money into the car or attempt to sell, be sure you hold the clear title.

·
Registered
120 Posts
Post a lot of pics of the car... then we can give you a better idea of what we think it is worth....

·
Registered
2,660 Posts
Look pretty good. What you need to decide is it something that truly interests you ? Restoration is expensive and time consuming. The car is not a rare model so it will not ever in my opinion have a big dollor value. If this is a car you would enjoy owning for many years then step up and get to work otherwise I'm sure you could find a buyer here if your price is fair.

·
Registered
508 Posts
Looks to be in fair condition,... very stock . The factory A/C is not cannibalized, a big plus. Center console,.. good. Wonder if that floor rust is from a clogged evap. drip pan, HMMM. Texas car all its life???? DSO? could be another plus. I like those wheels, they are of classic style++. Could be a headliner, floor patch panel, dash pad and seat covers away from a nice ride! Has potential.

·
Registered
2,493 Posts