Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Afternoon. I am new to old Fords and bought my Cat a couple of months ago and I am now on alternator number 3. I have wired it exactly like it was when I took the first one off, but I am assuming I missed something. The PO has added several relays for various components but I have yet to trace all of them, electric fan and electric fuel pump are the two I am sure of at the moment. My question is this.. I have read about a conversion to 3G, but I have no idea what that is, and there is mention of one wire conversions. I have replaced the voltage regulator with one from NAPA, but the alternators have all come from Autozone because the PO bought the one from there and it was still under warranty so I am not out that cost yet. No charge at the battery when the Cat is running and voltage steadily drops until the car dies. I have checked resistance on the wiring harness, and everything is good. I have no idea how to tell an internal regulator alternator from one that requires an external alternator regulator because everything I have ever owned was original so no need to check for modifications. (And I have only had Chevy's until now). Any help would be appreciated, I am very confused and want to drive the car. Could I seriously have received three bad alternators in a row? Or am I killing them somehow with all the relays? I have avoided Fords because the electrical always seemed a little squirrely, and this situation is only confirming my thoughts about Ford wiring. Scratching my head.

·
Premium Member
4,102 Posts
I know this is not the best picture of a Ford Alternator, but it is the best I have handy.

Personally I have never had big problems with Ford electrical systems, MOPAR yes. I'm thinking it may have been wired up wrong. What year and model is your Cougar?

·
11,000 Posts