Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
866 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone! This is my first time posting at this site and I would like to say Hello!

I just bought my first Cat about a month ago! I got her at my family's carlot, from an elderly man. The car is a 69 XR-7 with 93k original miles, it has just had the entire front suspension rebuilt, along with a new timing chain.

So far I have done a few things like changing the air cleaner (that big blue stocker was just too big for me), the voltage regulator, alternator, and of course the oil. But I seem to have ran into a slight problem.

It seems my cat doesn't want to "get up and go" when I get on her. It seems to have a large hesitation. For example, if I put it in first (FMX tranny) at a stop sign (After is has warmed up) and drop the pedal, the car will take off like its driving grandma to church, and the tires, or tire, will make a tiny little chirp.

Now, I've seen these 351 Windsors in action, and that car should be lighting them up if I jump on it that hard (I normaly don't, but when I noticed the hesitation, I decided to see what would happen at a stop).

The car came with a 4bbl stock, but now has a BRAND NEW Holley 2bbl, and I just put new plugs in, (Splitfires) if that means anything. I just can't seem to figure this out, I am thinking maybe the timing, the guy might have retarded it to run the cheap gas, or maybe a vaccum leak. But all the hoses look good.

If anyone has any ideas, I could really use 'em right about now.

Thank you all in advance,

Chris

(PS- I have been reading this board for quite some time, and look forward to getting to know you all!)

·
Premium Member
414 Posts
If it came with a 4bbl intake and you put a 2bbl on it somehow it might be starving for air or fuel. Did you change the intake manifold when you changed the carb? What is the CFM of your NEW 2bbl?:thinkuh:

·
Registered
669 Posts