Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys..
im new to the cougar world and the forum! im looking for a 67 or 68 cougar.
is there any real big difference between the 2 years?
anything to be on the lookout for between the two years?
i have a REAL nice HARLEY im trying to sell or trade!!
thanks for any help!
-John
"Hitman149"

·
Premium Member
2,364 Posts
The front suspension on the '67 is mostly a one-year design. The steering wheel is also a one-year design as is the gauge cluster bezel, but those are harder to spot.

·
Registered
508 Posts
Mainly engine, performance and trim options. Electrical systems were more refined in '68 and are not interchangeable to '67 without modification. Body panels are interchangeable, exception to the addition of safety side marker lights mandated in 1968.

1967 Cougars
models; Standard, XR7, GT, XR7 GT and
Dan Gurney Special
engines; 289 and 390cu.in.
1968 Cougars
models; Standard, XR7, GT, XR7-G and GT-E
engines; 302, 390, 427 and 428cu.in.

Interiors have a difference in the patterns for the stitching on the seats and an introduction of map pockets in the door panels for 1968.

·
Premium Member
1,276 Posts
welcome.

There also is the cougar letters which are in a block on '67's and in script on '68's.

·
Registered
97 Posts
It's not the big things, it's the ones:uhoh: Motor mounts and headlight switch to name two. And don't forget the early & late version of the 67. The guys at WCCC can keep you straight whichever you choose. Spend some time looking through their online catalog & notice how often 67 parts are listed separate from the 68.

·
Registered
1,237 Posts
Engine selections for 67 was a 289 2bbl, 289 4 bbl, or the big block 390 4 bbl. And for 68 besides a few 289s being made you had a 302 2 bbl, 302 4bbl, 390 2 bbl, 390 4 bbl, 427 4 bbl and a 428 4 bbl. (cobrajet) The 427 & 428 are rare.

·
Registered
1,853 Posts