I had a 68 302 4v my senior year of high school 1980
And just bought this 2v in very nice shape -
What do I need to know the most ?
Everything works. Under 50k miles
Wheel Tire Car Vehicle Land vehicle

·
Registered
7 Posts
Nice looking car! I'd say make sure she's mechanically sound safety wise (brakes, lights, etc.) and give her a good tune up so you have a baseline. Then just put some miles on and let her tell you what she wants. The West Coast Classic Cougar Youtube channel has tons of great videos to help you through most of the issues you'll encounter, and they sell just about everything you'll ever need. Great people, great service.

BTW, I graduated in '81 and had a '71 Torino Cobra at the time. I was looking for another one of those when I found my Cougar. Good luck and have fun!

·
Registered
10 Posts
I'm with Twerth! WCCC will get to be a great friend! Goods folks have helped me out with some of the simple stuff that I overlooked.

Graduated in '86 and when I was a sophomore a friend had a candy-apple red 68 XR-7 that he wanted to sell to me because he was going off to college. Mom said it was too much car for me! (Even though I drove a 76 Firebird the day I got my license!!!)

A friend I graduated with has a 68 and in 2000 sent me a FB MarketPlace ad with a 68 XR-7, 302 4bbl. So that is what I bought myself for my 50th bday. She runs like a champ and only thing I have done is a front end and Holley carb.

Oh! Drove car home after I bought it and I know exactly where I stopped first!

Good luck and you certainly have a beauty!

·
Contributing Member
1,941 Posts
I had a 68 302 4v my senior year of high school 1980
And just bought this 2v in very nice shape -
What do I need to know the most ?
Everything works. Under 50k miles
View attachment 118248
Your Cat looks like it just came off the showroom floor!

Brown World Publication Font Wood

What you need to know the most? You need to be able to fix problems that you may or will encounter.