Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone! Im Rob, and this is my 1971 Cougar XR7. I got it about 3 weeks ago and its an all original car.

I have been reading this board for a while now and i think this is something i can do. I am not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination so i hope i can pick your brains for some how to's in the future.

Trim 6a
Axel 6
Trans u
DSO 15
COL V
Body 65f

My first of a million questions is, Do these numbers tell me what my axle ratio is? Do I have an fmx or c6?

·
Registered
2,991 Posts
Welcome to the forum Rob. Here is a breakdown of the codes: Trim:6A-XR-7 Black leather bucket seats, Axle:6-3.00:1 ratio, Trans:U-C6, DSO:15-New York. Color:V-Light Pewter Metallic & Body:65F-Hardtop XR-7 with Bucket seats. John

·
Premium Member
4,105 Posts
I like the way it looks, The color is really good for that body style. Nice find!

·
Registered
11,950 Posts
Clean looking cat....welcome!

·
Premium Member
1,276 Posts
Welcome! Where in the great white north are you? Since the DSO is NY, are you up here in the Northeast?
Are You saying the great white north is south of me? I gotta get a better job!

I chose not to ask that question. Don't know why.

Isn't that Yeloxr7's job?

Jean :thinkuh:

·
Registered
1,302 Posts
Welcome!!!:wave:

I had one just like yours.
Except it wasn't an XR7 and it was lime green, but it was a 71.:D
I like that body style.:cool:

·
Registered
2,660 Posts
Looks clean and I love the color ! What Engine code is it !

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Welcome to the forum Rob. Here is a breakdown of the codes: Trim:6A-XR-7 Black leather bucket seats, Axle:6-3.00:1 ratio, Trans:U-C6, DSO:15-New York. Color:V-Light Pewter Metallic & Body:65F-Hardtop XR-7 with Bucket seats. John

Thanks!!!!!

·
Registered
210 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Wow. I don't think I've ever seen a light pewter metallic Cougar.
I likes it!

Welcome!