Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everyone,
I’ve been a member for about a couple of months and really enjoy all the information and comradery here. I wanted to share my story and some pictures of my first car at age 16, a 1967 Cougar. It was a base Cougar, dark blue, white interior, 289 2bl, C4 trans, non A/C car. The first 5 pictures are of the car shortly after I got it in 1977. Please pardon the quality of the pictures. Remember they are over 30 years old! The other pictures are of the car taken in 1981. Take notice of the vehicles in the background of one of the pictures. My Dad’s vehicles were a 1972 LTD and a 1978 Thunderbird. The truck was also a Ford, can’t remember the year. We were definitely a Ford family. I have been a Parts Manager for a local FLM dealer since 1980. I did a restomod around 1979, even though it wasn’t referred to as that back then. What do you think of the huge snorkel hood scoop, it was one of the big things in the 70’s and 80’s? LOL!!! Here is a list of some of the things I did to it if my memory serves me correctly:<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com
Painted and dyed the interior in black.<o:p></o:p>
Had the seats and door trim panels redone in black diamond tuck
Stewart Warner gauges and Tach. mounted on steering column<o:p></o:p>
B&M Starshifter (does not show in the picture, added later)<o:p></o:p>
Custom steering wheel (can’t remember the brand)<o:p></o:p>
Jenson AM/FM Cassette sound system<o:p></o:p>
Swapped the rearend out with a 9 inch with 3.50 gears
Exterior paint was a Corvette Blue (can’t remember the exact color)<o:p></o:p>
Firestone Tires (I think they were referred to as 60’s and 70”s back then)<o:p></o:p>
American Racing Aluminum Slot Wheels<o:p></o:p>
Snorkel Hood Scoop (functional)<o:p></o:p>
Mr. Gasket Hood Pins<o:p></o:p>
Rear Leaf Spring Shackle Lifts with Monroe Air Shocks
<o:p></o:p>