Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,163 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been futzing with my edelbog (pun intended) for 2 years now. When I stomp on it from a dead stop it seriously bogs to the point of sometimes stalling. Other than that it runs great.
I have messed with the jets, rods, acc pump, timing, and vacuum. I have talked with their tech support and bought just about every rod/jet combo they have.
Everytime I think I have it licked, it seems to work for a while then it does it again.

I'm done..........going to change to a holley next spring

·
Contributing Sr Motorhead
5,470 Posts
Give us (or remind us) of your engine's/trans/rear gearing particulars and we can help you make the right decision!

FWIW, I could never get the Motorcraft 4300 in either of my '73s to work worth a darn. Once I put the Holley '66 GT390 carb on BetaCat, it was a different animal!!!

I now have a Holley 670 Street Avenger on my '89 Crown Vic's 460hp 393W. Love it!!!!

·
Registered
2,518 Posts
Either way, I would say go with a Holley, but have you checked the advance curve? What dizzy are you running?

·
Registered
9 Posts
I bolted an Edelbrock on my wife's 69 351w and havent regretted a single minute of it.
Have you checked the fuel pressure right at the carb?? I was having problems at one point and it turned out to be a weak fuel pump. It was barely putting 4psi out at the carb. Once the fuel pump was changed it ran great again.
I'm not trying to defend the Edelbrock, just trying to save you from spending a lot of money that you may not have to.

·
Registered
7,552 Posts
Most carb problems are misdiagnosed ignition problems...Have you looked at all your wiring, etc??

·
Registered
708 Posts
I have been futzing with my edelbog (pun intended) for 2 years now. When I stomp on it from a dead stop it seriously bogs to the point of sometimes stalling. Other than that it runs great.