Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1995 Cougar XR7 From California. I know it might not be as classic as some, but it has Not one speck of rust and interior was in awesome shape. I thought it would make an ok cruiser. I have the Automatic with the V8 2 door coupe.

My problem started about a year ago, where the car would just die. I can crank the crap out of it but it won't start. If I leave it sit overnight it will start and then run for a period of time.

As this problem has gotten worse, over this year now it only runs a few minutes then stops. It will still crank but it won't fire. I have No Spark! At the Plugs when this happens

I'm not a tech by trade but I believe this is all pointing to a PCM Module or Could it be a Sensor or what. I have changed the items listed below.

Ignition Control Module
Coils (both)
Ignition Wires OEM
Fuel Filter
Ready to change Fuel pump (have bought it) but plenty of fuel preasure over (40)
checked all Fuseable Links at Power Box
Removed a Python Alarm System which I could never Operate (thought that might be it)

My question has a few parts! Has anyone had this type of problem?
Are the PCM units Flashed from the Factory? or does it depend
Last! Could any other part be causing this.
Finally! are there any other tests that can be made to check all this?

I wish they had better repair manuals but I guess that's not how it works is it!....LOL
:bloated:

·
Registered
11,950 Posts