Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys,

Never had a Cougar before and really never though about getting one but I ran across this one a few days ago. I am more of a Pontiac guy but I heard that Q code engines were sought after or something but I don't know too much about them in Cougars. Can't really find much info on them.

This car is a 1 owner and had not been registered in over 22 years. Went and looked at it, read the vin and bought it. I have not gone through it but I did notice the A/C is date correct. I was told it was completely original and it does look like it but I'm no expert by any means that is why I am on these forums. We got it started but didn't sound great....the gas was like 22 years old so we will drain it tomorrow and try again. I just don't know too much about these. Is this car rare?

IMAG013334.JPG

It is an AZ car and has little to no rust.
Original Color
Stock hubcaps
It has disk in front drums in rear.
It is an xr7 with white leather seats. No console :(

Where would I find the build sheet on this? I looked under the back seat and nothing was there.

·
Registered
2,991 Posts
Welcome to the forum. According to CBTNs (Cougar By The Numbers), there were a total of 2557 Q code '72 XR-7 HT's built. 156 with a 4 spd and 2401 with an automatic. Here is a link to where you can purchase that book and other books like The Mustang & Cougar Tagbook, which will help you decode tags on your car. If you're interested on finding out info on your car you can get a "Marti Report", just put in your vehicle information and then click where it says "Select & Click Here" then where it says "Marti Report". www.martiauto.com . John

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3