Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
69 XR7 351w 4v FMX. Can I convert the stock rear end to posi-traction? If so, is there a kit available? Or is it better to just buy a posi rear end?

As I have stated before, I'm not an experienced mechanic, but I'll try anything once, I'm willing to learn, and not afraid to ask dumb questions!

Thanks.

Jeff

·
Premium Member
2,142 Posts
Yes you can convert. A new posi is available from several sources. You would have to tear down the existing "pumpkin" (gears+differential) and put the posi in.
It might be simpler to buy a complete pumpkin from a reliable source.

To do it yourself requires a quite a few steps and a lot of tools. And of course a shop manual.

·
Registered
11,950 Posts
rear gears are kinda tough to set them up properly and not very forgiving if you don't. Shouldn't be to hard to find another setup reasonable - just know what gear ratio you want and start hunting. I have seen quite a few pop up on CL as of late.

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys. Sometimes there is a fine line between being brave enough to try something new, and being stupid enough to do something beyond your own skill level! I'll start shopping for a posi rear end.

Jeff

·
Registered
223 Posts
Thanks guys. Sometimes there is a fine line between being brave enough to try something new, and being stupid enough to do something beyond your own skill level! I'll start shopping for a posi rear end.

Jeff
+100, Diff setup is an art. I have been in the automotive field for over 30 years and many claim to have the skill to properly set one up but few get it right. Most drive line shops are a fail.