Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,145 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 70 XR7 has an "H" engine code (351 2v) but it has a 1970 351c 4v under the hood. Is there a way to tell the diff between a 2v block and a 4v block? Was thinking, maybe the previous owner just did a intake and head swap.

Thanks, richard

·
Premium Member
414 Posts
He also could have just changed the manifold and carb. That is what I did to my H code. Easy and inexpensive swap. Just my 2 cents.:)

·
Registered
3,371 Posts
Really? 4 bolt mains? Who knew?:eek2:

DON

·
Registered
1,832 Posts
I dont think thats correct that all 4v's were 4 bolt mains but I'm not a Cleavland expert. mm

·
Registered
2,145 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
its got the 4v heads on it too

·
Registered
1,112 Posts
All 4v Clevelands did not have four bolt mains. However, any Cleveland can be converted to 4 bolt mains. The block is the same for 351C 2v and 351C 4v. What kind of intake is in place? Is it an aluminum intake? If so, it is most likely a 351C 2v with a conversion intake. Also, look at the corner of the heads for a "2" or "4".

·
Registered
2,145 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
here are the numbers on the intake, it appears to be original 1970 4v. Im thinkin the previous owner did a engine swap, the more i look at it??????

·
Registered
2,145 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
it is: DOAE-9425-L

I dont mind the 4v parts at all. I hope it is all 4v.
I have a complete 351c 2v in my parts car.
Was hoping the 351c 4v was the cars original engine. probably had a better rear end gear with the 4v pkg.

·
Registered
2,145 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Congrats on your seniorness jimk351c.

·
Registered
1,112 Posts