Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I am going to do a little tech write up on this as I do the work on my 67 project. I have never done a headliner before but I have done a lot of reading. I may try to avoid pulling the rear glass as the seals and glass are in really good shape. I yoinked the front glass and I've pulled the old headliner.

I was wondering if I could avoid putting the sound deadener back in or if that will cause sag in the headliner?

Does anyone have any tricks or experience doing these headliners they would like to share?

My thought was, if I wanted to avoid pulling the rear glass, to test fit first. Line up everything.. Then apply glue to the rear of the headliner and tuck it in at the back and let the glue dry. Then start adding in the bars. Wonder if I need to use the spray glue if I am going to be able to eliminate the sound deadener..

When I get to the front I will wrap the headliner up around the windshield lip and pull tight, apply glue and clamp down while the glue dries.

Once the glue is dry I can align and glue the strips on the side of the windshield.

Sounds like it should be doable but I'm sure a few folks have some feedback on their own experiences :) Please share.

Thnx.

Mark

·
Registered
156 Posts
Don't leave out the sound deadener it really helps. I have a friend in the upholstery business and he says to only way to replace the headliner correctly is to pull the front and rear glass. He told me he's redone several headliners because the glass wasn't removed.

·
Registered
1,204 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Good to know Smag thnx. Since I am doing a full respray as well taking out the rear glass is best I guess. Just hate to see the old girl stripped nekid like that. Oh well :) It's just work right? :)

·
Premium Member
646 Posts
Rear gasket can be had for around $30 and it will make the job 50 times easier!

·
Premium Member
6,980 Posts