Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, I know questions of value are somewhat subjective - beauty is always in the eye of the beholder, right? But I need a little guidance...

I found a '68 Cougar for sale that's in overall good condition except for rust on the lower quarters. The interior won't need much, maybe carpet and a driver's seat cover. The BIG kicker is that the car has a '69 428 Cobra Jet and C6 tranny! Job appears to have been done right with B&M shift kit, and posi traction rear. The engine was professionally rebuilt 9 months ago. As you can see the original wheels are gone, new ones appear to be "bullet hole" style aluminum.

What would your best guesstimate be for value?
How much do you think the 428CJ & C6 add?

I don't think the car is worth what he's asking, but wanted opinions from you guys.

Thanks for your help!!
Jason

Attachments

·
Registered
1,859 Posts
Values

I'm No expert, that statement said my two cents forthcoming.
I love these cars, but they are not as valued as some of the other makes and models. This is of course a GREAT injustice for a seller, but gives a buyer more leverage to obtain.
The Cougar would hve to be primo to bring $10,000 from me personally. The only cats that seem to command more money on a consistant market I think are limited, rare model, high performence types. (as far as I'm concerned the high performence types are all limited and rare, doesnt matter to me if they are home built!)
NOBODY owns one that couldnt be worked on some, none of them are perfect, they are 30 plus years old. what they represent is now unappreciated or forgotten, accept by a few of us who are just nuts enought to put hard earned money where it really hurts!