Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
505 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Need some help. I purchased a '69 eliminator project car and it is in the body shop going through metal and primer. Although all eliminator parts are present, the deck lid had rusted away before I acquired the project and a replacement was provided.

My issue is about attaching the wing to the deck lid. As I have no prior experience or reference point for the wing, I am somewhat at a loss. West Coast Cougars was very helpful in selling me new gaskets and mounting bolts ... but I am not sure if additional support (brackets) are needed on the bottom side of the lid for the '69 model year. Yes, the wing is light wieght and not a repo. I'd like to do this right, just need some guidance.

If someone else has a '69 Eliminator and could send me a picture and the proper spacing on the deck lid, you could help a father/daughter project move forward.

PS - I'm new to Mecurycougar.net but I've owned '69 cougars for almost 35 years. Thanks for any help in advance!

·
Premium Member
13,577 Posts
Sorry I cannot help more, but to my knowledge the original spoilers are the heavy ones and the repro's are the ones that are light.

·
Registered
726 Posts
No, there are no supports on the underside of the trunk lid. The threaded posts go through the gaskets, through the holes in trunk lid and fastened with washers and nuts. Here's a couple shots ....

DSCN3628[1].jpg DSCN3629[1].jpg

·
Registered
913 Posts