Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy all, I'm a newbie here but a longtime owner of various old Fords. (Mostly T-Birds/Galaxies of the early '60's.) Recently purchased an old 1969 Cougar and brought her home for a "father/son" project with my boy. This car has sat since 1987 and is complete, straight, and a little rusty. Lot's of potential in my opinion. Well, here's my first question...why is my headlight switch almost impossible to engage/pull out to test the lights? I hooked my battery charger up to the existing battery just to check and see what lights would work, and hopefully introduce my son to the beauty of sequential tail lights. Interior courtesey lights came on when the door opened, but when I tried to pull the light switch to the "on" position it wouldn't budge! My first thought is 25 years of corrosion on the shaft? Spray a little contact cleaner down the shaft? Any thoughts? Does the fact that the headlight covers are in the up position have any bearing on the switch?? Thanks in advance, this is a great forum board...

Dan
aka "Kizer's Dad"

·
Registered
913 Posts
Welcome, good to hear from another Virginian. The problem is inside the switch itself, there is a rubber block that slides back and forth to cover the vacuum ports so that the headlights know when to open. This rubber block is stuck. If you can't pull the stem out to get the lights on, then you will have to cut the knob off and R/R the switch. Hope this helps

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Towcat, that makes sense. Does the light covers being in the up position make any difference with regards to the light switch? BTW, the Cougar is a local car, bought her outside of Richmond and so far my son loves her...even if she is a little rusty! :)

·
Registered
1,483 Posts