Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
263 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:1zhelp: Hi Guys!! Well this is my first post i am fairly new here..... but have been reading your posts for months. I have recently purchased a 1968 XR7 351W..... WOW what a car!! I love it!! :D When i first turned the ignition on the car, it would idle at around 500 and make it's way up to just under 1000. Well it was coming time for a service but due to i live in an apartment not the ideal situation to be in when you want to work on a car!! I took it to a shop for it's first service and a general tune/check up to see if they could see any problems mechanically that i had missed. (I am a rookie mechanic!!) Well he said everything was fine... they flushed all the engine, radiator, changed filters and plugs... oh and they told me the engine was idling a little high so they changed it.... well i said okay... i thought maybe 800 is a better idle speed?? Well i got in (it was dark and i needed to replace the dash light bulbs) and drove home.... less than a mile. The next morning i turned the car over and i noticed that it was idling at 450!! ARGH!! Due to the fact that i have read many posts here advising an idle of 800-900!! Well even a modern car would struggle at that so i changed the idle speed on the carb...... it is a motorcraft #### so it now steadily idles at 900 approx. Well i thought oh well that's sorted!! :p: WRONG!! When i press the accelerator the engine roars like it should but when it comes back down to idle... it has dropped 200rpm approx..... do it again and the same another 200rpm gone... i can't get it back..... and it eventually stalls or i turn it off!! (I don't like to hear it just die on me!!) Could someone please help!! I have no idea.....
Many thanks

A proud new Cougar owner

Stu

p.s Ignore my user name... i have a windsor...... i was going to buy a cleveland but..... it was sold by the time i got there!! :D

·
Registered
88 Posts
Idle adjustment