Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so i just recently bought a 1970 cougar standard hardtop. it's a project i've been working on for only a few weeks, but things are coming along nicely. i'm fairly new to classic cars though, and the fuel gauge isn't working, so i was just wondering what could be causing this? i'm not looking for a specific diagnosis, just some possible sources/ideas. thanks!

·
Premium Member
566 Posts
Check the sending unit in the gas tank, and the brass float , also could be a wiring short or bad ground wire, or a bad gauge. Good luck

·
Premium Member
13,577 Posts
Hi and welcome to the forum. Are your other gauges working? Assume yes. If yes, this means the instrument voltage regulator is working and the problem is likely in thw connection to the sender, the wiring to the sender or the sender itself. What you can do is disconnect the wiring connector from the sender (Do you have an XR7? There are two pins in those connector/senders) and ground the connector to the body. If the gas gauge goes to full tank, then the problem lies with the sender. IF the gauge does nothing, the problem is with something forward of the sender, wiring, gauge, etc... (generally in that order).

Hope this helps.

Also, we like to know where people are from, put your location in your profile if you would and introduce yourself. Again, welcome, great forum and great members here.

Regards,

Bob

·
Registered
1,422 Posts
Bob,

I think he might be in Northern Virginia based on his name, kinda like that guy in Cedar Rapids.

·
Premium Member
13,577 Posts
excellent, thanks a lot guys.

bob, i am indeed from northern virginia, right outside of D.C.
Umm, yeah, guess I should have known that (DUH!!!). LOL. Well anyway, yeah, great members, but some are not so bright :buck: Hope the advice helps you get to the bottom of the problem.

·
Registered
12 Posts