Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I'm a novice at bodywork. I just welded in a small patch and am wondering whats the best filler nowadays?
all i found here so far is that evercoat is very hard to sand, evercoat rage is easier.
is there one filler thats better for thicker buildup in general
thanks

·
Registered
389 Posts
proper metal work is best...that way u never have to have the "thicker" buildup... fillers should only be used sparingly and very thin...

·
Registered
39 Posts
I use overcoat fillers and yes I do find it slow to sand as well. That being said I think it gives a nice finish and not too many pinholes which is why I use it. But it's all personal preference.

·
Premium Member
13,577 Posts
Rage is supposed to be good stuff from what I have heard.

·
Registered
980 Posts
Depends on what you are doing with it...if there is a chance of it gathering moisture, say behind the rear tires..you may want to consider using tiger hair on the first coat, and topping it with evercoat. The tiger hair will prolong the life of the evercoat, otherwise it'll draw moisture from behind and bubble. Just my two cents on it. But, as was stated above, less is better...however, I have seen others that look like they applied bondo with a boat oar and filled some pretty big holes (which should have had metal put in first).

·
Registered
524 Posts
"with a boat oar"-- hehe, my chuckle for the day,Thanks, hehehe

·
Registered
1,126 Posts
Well, at least an oar is better than a MOP. In the 50's saw lots of cars that looked like they were painted with a MOP.

Ask your supplier which fillers to use and WHEN. Go on line and LEARN.

Dale in Indy

·
Registered
154 Posts
I use evercoat rage.. very happy with it.. How thick of a build-up are you looking at? Don`t want to go much more than 1/4 inch with any filler..

·
Registered
2,518 Posts