Mercury Cougar Owners banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
433 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, with the alternator upgrade finished and the interior going back into the car, I'll be looking for my next project soon. What I am starting to look at is adapting some form of EFI to the car. The Ford 5.0 system looks good, but a bit complicated to hook up. As this is my daily driver I am considering a GM TBI system off of a 350. I am just beginning to research this, but It looks pretty straight forward. Don't know if the 350 ECU is my best choice for the 302, but I have heard they can be programmed. Also heard that the 4.3, 5.0, and 5.7 systems are the same. At any rate, I don't think it would be much of a performance or mileage gain, if any, so much as a driveability improvement for my daily driver. The setups are a dime a dozen and from what I have found will bolt to my intake with an adapter. If anyone knows these systems, or the ford setup for that matter, I'd be interested in opinions. Also got some free 15 inch wheels (steel) for free and some hubcaps that look just like my 14 inch ones. I would have liked to get some aluminum ones, but the price was right.

·
Registered
73 Posts
Go with the ford 5.0l, it's not that hard with a good wiring diagram. I put an 87 mustang in mine, then converted it to mass air. Go to my site radcat68.tripod.com no www click on the galleries. I have a few pic on my gallery here under radcat & radcat68. If you have any tech questions let me know.
Brian

·
Registered
885 Posts
I agree with Brian. EFI is actually a huge advantage. Definitely better mileage and lower emissions, but it doesn't mean more horsepower in stock form. If you're interested in more go, you can find aftermarket performance modules. See http://www.jetchip.com (as one example). The advantage of EFI over a carbureted engine becomes evident as soon as you drive up to the ski slope.

Steve C.

·
Registered
433 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Brian,